the baker’s twelve days of christmas (as enjoyed by the appreciative masses)

Women baking in Minnesota, 1942

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my baker gave to me:

Twelve first-class fruitcakes

Eleven Swedish pastries

Ten Bûches de Noël

Nine German stollen

Eight iced kolaches

Seven warm rice puddings

Six gingerbread men

Five Panettone

Four Scotch shortbread

Three French boules

Two Sacher tortes

And one tray of frosted sugar cookies.

Photograph shows members of a Swedish-American church group in Minneapolis, Minnesota; photographer: Jack Delano/Farm Security Administration (1942).  Source: Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs (LC-USW3- 001179-D [P&P])

4 thoughts on “the baker’s twelve days of christmas (as enjoyed by the appreciative masses)

  1. I’m sorry, but this is too good to pass up. The Suite created this for our door decoration, so I’ll sing along with different words, if you don’t mind:

    On the first day of Christmas, Professor gave to me

    one unfinished final critique

  2. Sorry, missed a day, but I think I’ll just wait until the end to see how this plays out. So far: mouthwatering.

  3. On the twelfth day of Christmas, my professor gave to me:

    twelve Dunkin Donuts

    eleven nervous breakdowns

    ten dull Xactos

    nine ER visits

    eight concept models

    seven-hour lectures

    six different due dates

    five Tylenol

    four elevations

    three-day-long renders

    just two hours of sleep

    and one unfinished final critique

    1. haha

      But it would be nice if you’d specify the genre of professor; I am pretty sure I cannot be liable for at least seven of these.

Leave a Reply

